Nobel Prize Awarded Women in STEM

The list of female Nobel laureates is very short, only 17 women have won 18 Nobel Prizes in the STEM fields (Chimistry: 4, physics: 2, Medecine or Pysiology: 12).

The first woman to win a Nobel Prize was Marie Curie (1867-1934), who have won the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1903 with her husband, Pierre Curie, and Henri Becquerel.
Marie Curie is also the first person and only woman to have won Nobel Prize twice.

Here, we provide the list of the 17 women who have won the Nobel Prize.

1- The Nobel Prize in Chemistry (n=4)


2- The Nobel Prize in Physics (n=2)


3- The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine (n=12)

Related articles

  • “Ces femmes oubliées ou sous-estimées des prix Nobel” by Mathilde Damgé, Le Monde 9 Oct. 2015.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email